in

2014 R3 with SRAM Force 22 BB30 "native"

Last post 10-04-2020 11:01 PM by Jimbomason. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-08-2014 11:28 AM

• snowbeer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 04-08-2014
    • Milwaukee, WI
    • Posts 4

2014 R3 with SRAM Force 22 BB30 "native"

I've read through all the posts around this combination and especially all of Hutch's tips. I don't think I would be as far along as I am without those tips. However I'm struggling with exact spacer/preloader/wave spring combo that should be used for this combination. I'm building up a new 2014 R3, since I am not experienced with bottom bracket installation I had the LBS put the BB and crank in and then I took it home. The LBS told me they spent 30min on the phone with Cervelo and SRAM trying to figure out how to get the BB30 Force 22 crankset to work. Last night I noticed that my non drive side crank arm is about 5mm outboard compared to the drive side crank arm. The chainline on the driveside appears to be exactly where it needs to be (at least it matches sheldon brown's old school recommendations within 0.1mm, so I think the spacers on the non drive side is off. The guy who put it in used some amount of spacers on the drive side and a wave spring on the drive side (which I read is not what is supposed to be done). The non drive side has a preload adjuster nut that is quite thick but no spacers. I've read that the wave spring should be on the non drive side. This post tells me I should probably ditch the preload adjuster nut on the non drive side and put in thinner spacers and a wave spring, as well as ditch the wave spring on the drive side (which will change my chainline unless I need to find different spacers for that side). http://forums.cervelo.com/forums/t/11775.aspx?PageIndex=2 So I'm considering taking it apart, replacing the wave spring with some spacers on the drive side, removing the preloader on the non drive side, and putting in spacers and a wave